Recognizing those who change the lives of others


#Catalyst4Change is cFive’s corporate initiative created to give back to the industry by providing a platform to recognize dynamic individuals in community supervision, share insight on what works, and build awareness and support in the community and beyond. In its second year, the #Catalyst4Change award program provides an incredible snapshot of some of the amazing programs and initiatives community supervision professionals have championed across the nation.

Meet the 2018 #Catalyst4Change Award Winner

At the APPA Annual Training Institute in Philadelphia Stacy Ledvina was awarded the 2018 #Catalyst4Change Award. Stacy was recognized for her work as the champion of the “Kids at Hope” program for the Manitowoc County Human Services Department (Wisconsin).

After meeting the program founder at an APPA Institute, she recognized that the Kids at Hope’s empowering philosophy – All Youth are Capable of Success, No Exceptions! — would provide a strong foundation to help forge a new path for the County’s youth services. She believed the Kids at Hope program could be a catalyst for significant change within the county’s juvenile services department and quickly secured county support. From there, Stacy worked to develop funding and support the county-wide launch. “I believe all youth are capable of success – No Exceptions!” states Stacy. “I am a Treasure Hunter, to search for all of the talents, skills and intelligence that exist in all youth.”

Since the launch of the program the County has positively impacted thousands of youth. Results include a substantial reduction in juvenile court referrals and a 72-percent reduction in bookings to the secure detention facility.

More about the 2018 Award Winner and Finalists

We invite you to read the stories from the Finalists and Winner, and learn more about how their programs have helped reduce recidivism, improve lives, and keep communities safe. (Click on the Finalists’ name to be taken to their profile page.)

Arlyn Harris, Maricopa County Adult Probation Department

Jill Johansson-Love, Dallas County Community Supervision & Corrections (Adult Probation)

Meet the 2018 #Catalyst4Change Winner: Stacy Ledvina, Manitowoc County Human Services

2017 #Catalyst4Change Award

Winner of the 2017 #Catalyst4Change Award was Herb Sinkinson, Burlington Probation and Parole, Vermont Department of Corrections. Believing that having members play an active role in setting expectations for probation could be life changing for offenders, victims and their community, Herb and the Burlington Probation and Parole team worked diligently to launch and grow the state’s Reparative Board program in their area. Emphasizing an offender’s need to take responsibility and hold themselves accountable, the program taps guidance from community members to identify an equitable course of action.When compared to offenders who did not participate in the program, research cites program participants exhibit a 23-percent lower recidivism rate.

Meet the 2017 Award Winner and Finalists

In 2017 cFive received nominations of many incredible and inspiring change makers for our #Catalyst4Change awards program. We invite you to read their stories and learn how they continue to make a difference across the nation. (Click on each Finalists’ name to be taken to their profile.)

David Cervantes, Las Vegas Municipal Court

Jay Holmes, Sedgwick County, Division of Corrections

Veronica Perry, Medina County Court of Common Pleas Adult Probation Department

Erin Rodriguez, Fifth Judicial District Community Corrections

2017 #Catalyst4Change Award Winner: Herb Sinkinson, Burlington Probation & Parole, Vermont Department of Corrections

Why #Catalyst4Change

Celebrate Success. Help recognize someone that has made a difference.

Share Ideas. Give others insight into how they can reduce recidivism, improve lives, and keep communities safe.

Create Awareness. Build awareness and support with others in community supervision, and, local, as well as with regional and national media to promote awareness within your community, legislators and policy makers.